Thirteen Great Things

Hello there, Internet, it’s good to see you!

This ridiculous thing called College is eating up the majority of my time lately, and life has returned to its usual level of high-strung craziness. But I’m really missing the blogging world (I am so behind on many of my usual daily reads), so I’m coming to you tonight with a round up of great stuff from around the web.

First and foremost, I have to not-so-humbly brag about That One Time I Wrote for NPR (yes, this will totally be a chapter in a future memoir — get excited). This story has been in the works for quite some time, and seeing it published two weeks ago was the highlight of my journalism career thus far.

In other fantastic journalism news, this week, the New York Times released 50 of its best pieces since 2011 to celebrate earning one million paid subscriptions. Some of my personal favorites are “Snowfall“, “To Fall in Love With Anyone, Do This” and  the columns of David Carr who died earlier this year.

The Times also published this intriguing editorial on the purpose of a college education. Predictably, the comments section went ballistic, but it’s a thought-provoking read for anyone of college age. And while we’re talking about school, you should check out this article by one of my former journalism mentors and reignite your passion for learning.

If you’re tired of reading a post all about other articles, Facebook is officially working on a dislike button for that. While I find the concept of a “dislike button” as amusing as the next guy, I think such a feature will do more harm than good. What are your thoughts?

So, as you ponder the meaning of college and the potential of a dislike button and you just so happen to work up an appetite in the process, head over to Kathy Patalsky’s corner of the Internet, Healthy Happy Life. Kathy writes about life and delicious, healthy, easy-t0-make food — the world’s greatest combination. I had the opportunity to interview Kathy today and she had tons of insightful advice regarding her own rise as an accidental blogger. Kathy is also the author of two fabulous cookbooks, which you can check out here.

My own bookshelf is (as usual) stacked with books and an ever-growing list of ones I’d like to read. I’m almost done with Everybody Rise by New York Times journalist turned best-selling author, Stephanie Clifford. The book deserves the major praise it has received across the blogosphere since its release at the end of the summer, and I’ll write more about it as soon as I’m done. Mindy Kaling’s new book and Lydia Davis’ collection of stories are recent additions to the to-be-read list.

One more very important thing — visit Alternative Press to stream this incredible new song by Panic! At the Disco. Even if you’re not a Panic fan, the band’s lead singer has described the song as Frank Sinatra meets Beyonce. Everyone loves Beyonce, so you might as well just give it a chance.

A Beyonce+Sinatra-esque single seems like the perfect place to leave this post, so until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

